The Board Ken Bryant Cameron Cox Yvonne Demery Mark Felicetti Gloria Gold David Govea Radomir V. Luza Mary Mann Fanny Martinez Barbara Nance Anita Otano Robert Peppermuller Anika Peress Joseph Shore-Goss Justine Visone Carol Wyner



President

Mary A. Garcia

Vice President
Pastor Jerrell Walls

Treasurer Diann Corral

Secretary Kevin MacKelvie

Non-Board Member, Recording Secretary
Maggie Shumaker

P.O. Box 152 North Hollywood, CA 91601 Phone/Fax (818) 754-1220 www.midtownnoho.org

November 20th 2012

RE: Agenda Item #12 November 14th 2012 Motion by Ken Bryant PLUHT Committee Chair Subject: Support Don't Waste LA Coalition Motion Carried by Unanimous vote

The MTNHNC Supports the Don't Waste Coalition's alternate waste hauling system for Los Angeles presented before us on November October 30th at the Planning Land Use Housing and Transportation Committee. The proposed project was presented and accepted by the full board on November 14th 2012. The proposal encompasses the entire City of Los Angeles.

We support a non-exclusive waste hauling system for the "City". Small businesses cannot shoulder any more increases to doing business in our "City".

In contrast, the exclusive franchise proposed by Don't Waste LA will protect small businesses from unfair rates by the city having the ability to control prices and make sure that rates are fair across the board. For example, in the city of Beverly Hills, which is under an exclusive system, businesses are currently playing less than they did in 2000 for their waste bill. This is despite the substantial increase of cost in fuel and landfill use. In LA county 55 cities out of 88 cities are under an exclusive franchise system, majority of the cities in Orange County, as well as, San Francisco, San Jose, Oakland.

Should you need further assistance please contact me.

Sincerely,

Mary A. Garcia, President h/o 1818.763.6000 cel 1818.554.4582 maryagarciaa@sbcglobal.net