11-1220-52

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, the Los Angeles Development Fund, a non-profit Community Development Entity, was formed to apply for and manage an allocation of New Markets Tax Credits on behalf of the City, with the City acting as the "Controlling Entity; and

WHEREAS, the Council previously supported applications of New Markets Tax Credits in 2011 and 2012 (C.F. 11-1220 & 11-1220-S1).

WHEREAS, on April 5, 2012 the Los Angeles Development Fund was awarded a \$50 million allocation of New Markets Tax Credits to provide funds for private commercial real estate projects (retail, industrial and mixed-use) in low-income communities and these funds were allocated to the following projects: Anderson Munger Center Rehabilitation (\$10M), Bobrick **YMCA** (\$5M).Dream Manufacturing/Office Facility (\$10M), Discovery Science Center of Los Angeles/Children's Museum (\$5M); and

WHEREAS, there are nine projects in the pipeline requesting a total of \$132.5 million which exceeds the \$10 million currently available; and

WHEREAS, the Los Angeles Development Fund intends to apply for a new allocation of \$125 million in the current New Markets Tax Credit application round; and

WHEREAS, the New Markets Tax Credit application defines a "Controlling Entity" as one that appoints at least 51% of the Governing Board of the Community Development Entity; and

WHEREAS, the City appoints 100% of the Los Angeles Development Fund governing board and the City desires to continue and expend the New Markets Tax Credit program before the application deadline of September 18, 2013;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that by the adoption of this Resolution, the City of Los Angeles hereby: (1) Certifies its support of the Los Angeles Development Fund's 2013 application for New Markets Tax Credits; (2) Certifies that it is the Controlling Entity of the Los Angeles Development Fund; and (3) Authorizes the City Clerk to sign the application on behalf of the Controlling Entity.

PRESENTED BY: Len & herb J. WESSON, JR.

Councilmember, 10th District