

## Building Owners & Managers Association Greater Los Angeles

Enhancing value in commercial real estate through advocacy, education and networking.

The Honorable Herb Wesson President, Los Angeles City Council Los Angeles City Hall 200 N. Spring Street, Room 430 Los Angeles, CA 90012

January 28, 2014

RE: Proposed Ban on E-Cigarettes Council File 13-1204

Dear Council President Wesson:

On behalf of the Building Owners and Managers of Greater Los Angeles (BOMA/GLA), I wish to express our support for the proposed ban on electronic cigarettes in the workplace (Council File 13-1204). BOMA/GLA spoke in support of the ban at the Art, Parks, Health, Aging and River Committee February 24<sup>th</sup>, and we support the amended bill language that would exclude Vapor Shops.

Building managers have contacted us in the last few months regarding complaints lodged by tenants about the use of e-cigarettes in tenant suites and common areas. Because current law does not cover e-cigarettes, it places the burden on building management to enforce a ban as a building policy. As you know, some e-cigarettes contain chemicals in addition to nicotine. Further, the FDA has not sanctioned e-cigarettes as a cessation device and no regulation is being placed on their usage or production.

The evidence provided at the Arts, Parks and Health Committee was clear: both the L.A. County Health Department and the USC Keck School of Medicine are concerned about the effect of the passive "vapor" from these devices. The proposed law is reasonable as it would not ban their purchase and use, only their use in enclosed workplaces where others cannot avoid the resulting vapor.

On behalf of the over 300 Class A high rise office buildings we represent, we support the effort to limit the use of these devices in work spaces until more is known of their effect. We appreciate Council's consideration on this issue, and urge your passage of this reasonable measure.

With regards,

Martha Cox-Nitikman Vice President, Public Policy

CC: Honorable Eric Garcetti, Mayor Honorable Gil Cedillo

Honorable Paul Krekorian Honorable Bob Blumenfield Honorable Tom LaBonge
Honorable Paul Koretz
Honorable Nury Martinez
Honorable Felipe Fuentes
Honorable Bernard Parks
Honorable Curren D. Price Jr.
Honorable Mike Bonin
Honorable Mitchell Englander
Honorable Mitch O'Farrell
Honorable Jose Huizar
Honorable Joe Buscaino