

425 S. Palos Verdes Street Post Office Box 151

David Arian

Vice President

San Pedro, CA 90733-0151

TEL/TDD 310 SEA-PORT

www.portoflosanaeles.org

Eric Garcetti **Board of Harbor** Commissioners Eugene D. Seroka Mayor, City of Los Angeles Ambassador Vilma S. Martinez President Executive Director

Patricia Castellanos

Anthony Pirozzi, Jr.

Edward R. Renwick

December 7, 2016

Honorable Members of the City Council of the City of Los Angeles

CD No. 15

Attention: Mr. Michael Espinosa, City Clerk's Office

RESOLUTION NO. 16-8029 - PROPOSED AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE CITY OF LOS SUBJECT: ANGELES HARBOR DEPARTMENT AND ALTASEA AT THE PORT OF LOS ANGELES FOR GRANT FUNDING FROM THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ADMINISTRATION: AND APPROVAL OF GRANT AWARD CONDITIONS

Pursuant to Section 606 of the City Charter, enclosed for your approval is Resolution No. 16-8029 authorizing Agreement No. 16-3442 between the City of Los Angeles Harbor Department and AltaSea at the Port of Los Angeles, which was approved at the December 1, 2016 meeting of the Board of Harbor Commissioners. The Restated Agreement outlines the U.S. Department of Commerce Economic Development Administration grant award conditions and grant obligations for AltaSea as well as all the Port of Los Angeles with the receipt of the grant. There is no impact to the General Fund. The Harbor Department has received an Executive Directive-4 waiver for this item.

RECOMMENDATION FOR CITY COUNCIL:

- ADOPT the determination by the Board of Harbor Commissioners (Board) that the proposed 1. action is exempt from the requirements of the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) in accordance with Article II, Section 2(f) of the Los Angeles City CEQA Guidelines;
- APPROVE Harbor Department Resolution No. 16-8029 authorizing Agreement No. 16-3442 2. between the City of Los Angeles Harbor Department and AltaSea at the Port of Los Angeles; and
- 3. Return to the Board of Harbor Commissioners for further processing.

Respectfully Submitted,

NELDOG

AMBER M. KLESGES **Commission Secretary**

cc: Innovation, Grants, Technology, Commerce & Trade Committee **Councilman Blumenfield** Councilman Bonin Councilman Krekorian Councilman Buscaino **Council President Wesson** Mandy Morales, Mayor's Office

Erick Martell, Harbor Representative Alvin Newman, CAO Cecilia Castillo, CD3 Mandana Khatibshahidi, CLA Andrew Westall, CD10