

August 9, 2017

Councilmember Herb Wesson 200 N. Spring Street, Room 430 Los Angeles, California 90012

Dear Council President Wesson,

On behalf of LA's BEST After School Enrichment Program, I'm writing in support of the dedicated funding for youth supports included in the LA 2028 Olympic bid. LA's BEST provides an after school program to 25,000 students in 197 elementary schools across Los Angeles, including 16 in Council District 10.

Because of a partnership with the LA84 Foundation, LA's BEST is able to offer sports programming, including soccer, flag football, basketball, softball, as well as dance and drill to over 15,000 students each year. Sports programs at LA's BEST help prepare kids for life - teaching them about collaboration, sportsmanship, perseverance and leadership. Through the LA84 Foundation, the legacy of the 1984 Olympics has supported LA's BEST students for more than two decades.

The 2028 Olympics have the potential to build upon the legacy of the 1984 Olympics and improve access to sports for students in LA's BEST and across the City of Los Angeles. With dedicated funding for youth sports, the 2028 Olympics will continue building a social and human legacy that will empower the next generation.

All students, regardless of their zip code, deserve to experience the transformative power of sport. LA's BEST is proud to partner with the LA84 Foundation to provide access to sports for kids who might not otherwise have that opportunity. The 2028 Olympics will provide essential resources to support sports programming and strengthen communities across the City of Los Angeles.

I ask for your support of the LA 2028 Olympic bid when it comes before City Council on Friday, August 11. If you have any questions, please contact me at eric.gurna@lacity.org or 213-292-0808.

Sincerely,

Eric Gurna President & CEO, LA's BEST

BOARD OF DIRECTORS Christopher D. Dusseault – Chair Mary Odell - Vice Chair Robert L. Wicke - CFO Helena Cho Adam Deromedi Alberto Diaz Trudi Ferguson Neal Fraser Jeff Goad Eric Gurna Russ Hagey Gerald L. Katell – Chair Emeritus Lyndal Larkin Heather Lord Damián Mazzotta Matthew D. Petersen The Honorable Richard J. Riordan **June Sale** Dean Schramm Candy Spelling **Cameron Strang** Marvin J. Suomi **David Travers**

ADVISORY BOARD

Trudi Ferguson, Ph.D. – Chair Richard S. Cheung, D.C. – Vice Chair Bryant Alexander, M. A., Ph.D. Alice Desobry Bowens, M.A. Olivia Campos-Bergeron Kevin Carnes Bill Coggins, MSW Jennifer Cowan, M.A. Cheryl Cruz, Ph.D. Nahal Danesh, MS, DI Raymond Ealy Ray Gonzales Eric Gurna Lorena Guzman Dr. Sweet Alice Harris Linda Harris-Forster, MSW Vivian Haun Andrea Kannike Ann Reiss Lane Cecilia Pascuzzo Laura C. Romero, Ph.D. James Rosser, Ph.D. Lois Saffian lune Sale Lt. Christopher Stevens Rebecca Unterman, M Ed Martha Watson, MŚW Barbara Yaroslavsky

BEST FRIENDS BOARD

Jeff Goad – Chair Justin Fredericks - Vice Chair Kelechi Ogbunamiri - Vice Chair Mona Sobhani - Jr. Vice Chair, Ph.D. lane Baek Hirak Bali Emily Benowitz Jenna Brill Binder Alissa Ellis, Ph.D. Jaclyn Frattali Sara Frisch Vivian Haun Jordan Kaye Paul Keltner Danielle Lew Sandra Maciel Bill Mayne **Miguel Melendez** Amani Roberts Todd Terrazas Evita Wong