ERIC GARCETTI Mayor Commission
MEL LEVINE, President
WILLIAM W. FUNDERBURK JR., Vice President
JILL BANKS BARAD
MICHAEL F. FLEMING
CHRISTINA E. NOONAN
BARBARA E. MOSCHOS, Secretary

MARCIE L. EDWARDS General Manager

February 19, 2016

The Honorable City Council City of Los Angeles Room 395, City Hall Los Angeles, California 90012

Honorable Members:

Subject:

Authorizes execution of Amended and Restated Optical Fiber Lease Agreement

No. FO-625-05/2010 (Master) and Short Form IRU-01 Lease Agreement

No. FO-626-05/2010 (IRU-01) with Level 3 Communications, LLC for Lease of Los Angeles Department of Water and Power Optical Fibers. The Amended and Restated Master Agreement will extend the term for an additional 15 years or up to August 2, 2030, and Amended and Restated IRU-01 will further generate \$620,495 if

the full extended term is realized.

Pursuant to Charter Section No. 606 enclosed for approval by your Honorable Body is Resolution No. 016 186, adopted by the Board of Water and Power Commissioners on February 16, 2016, approved as to form and legality by the City Attorney, which authorizes execution of Amended and Restated Optical Fiber Lease Agreement No. FO-625-05/2010 (Master) and Short Form IRU-01 Lease Agreement No. FO-626-05/2010 (IRU-01) with Level 3 Communications, LLC for Lease of Los Angeles Department of Water and Power Optical Fibers. The Amended and Restated Master Agreement will extend the term for an additional 15 years or up to August 2, 2030, and Amended and Restated IRU-01 will further generate \$620,495 if the full extended term is realized.

If additional information is required, please contact Ms. Winifred Yancy, Director of Intergovernmental Affairs and Community Relations, at (213) 367-0025.

Sincerely,

Barbara E. Moschos Board Secretary

BEM:msh

Enclosures: LADWP Resolution

Baltara E. Moodoo

Board Letter

Agreement No. FO-625-05-2010 - Master Agreement No. FO-626-05-2010 - IRU-01

CAO Report

c/enc: Mayor Eric Garcetti

Councilmember Felipe Fuentes, Chair, Energy and the Environment Committee

Sharon Tso, Chief Legislative Analyst

Miguel A. Santana, City Administrative Officer

Rafael Prieto, Legislative Analyst, CLA David Hirano, Chief Administrative Analyst

Winifred Yancy