DEPARTMENT OF CITY PLANNING OFFICE OF HISTORIC RESOURCES 200 N. SPRING STREET, ROOM 620 Los Angeles, CA 90012-4801 (213) 978-1200

CULTURAL HERITAGE COMMISSION

RICHARD BARRON PRESIDENT

GAIL KENNARD VICE-PRESIDENT

JEREMY IRVINE BARRY A. MILOFSKY ELISSA SCRAFANO

FELY C. PINGOL COMMISSION EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT (213) 978-1294

Date: FEB 01 2016

Trina Turk and Jonathan Skow 3214 Waverly Drive Los Angeles, CA 90027

CITY OF LOS ANGELES

CALIFORNIA



ERIC GARCETTI

EXECUTIVE OFFICES

MICHAEL LOGRANDE DIRECTOR (213) 978-1271

LISA WEBBER, AICP DEPUTY DIRECTOR (213) 978-1274

JAN ZATORSKI DEPUTY DIRECTOR (213) 978-1273

FAX: (213) 978-1275

INFORMATION (213) 978-1270 www.planning.lacity.org

CERTIFIED MAIL RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED

CASE NUMBER: CHC-2015-4011-HCM JULES SALKIN RESIDENCE 1430 W. AVON TERRACE

As you will note from the attached copy of our communication to the Los Angeles City Council, the Cultural Heritage Commission has moved to include the above-referenced property in the list of Historic-Cultural monuments, subject to adoption by the City Council.

In due course, our transmittal will be given a council file number and will be referred to the Council's Planning and Land Use Management Committee for review and recommendation. If you are interested in attending the Council Committee meeting, you should call Sharon Dickinson at (213) 978-1080 for information as to the time and place of the Committee and City Council meetings regarding this matter. Please give Ms. Dickinson at least one week from the date of this letter to schedule this item on the Committee Agenda before you call her.

The above Cultural Heritage Commission action was taken by the following vote:

Moved:Commissioner ScrafanoSeconded:Commissioner BarronAyes:Commissioners Irvine, Kennard, and Milofsky

Vote: 5 - 0

Fely C. Pingol, Commission Executive Assistant Cultural Heritage Commission

Attachment: CHC Letter to Council and Staff Report

c: Councilmember Mitch O'Farrell, Thirteenth Council District Barbara Lamprecht GIS

DEPARTMENT OF CITY PLANNING

OFFICE OF HISTORIC RESOURCES 200 N. Spring Street, Room 620 Los Angeles, CA 90012-4801 (213) 978-1200

C CULTURAL HERITAGE COMMISSION

> RICHARD BARRON PRESIDENT

GAIL KENNARD VICE PRESIDENT

JEREMY IRVINE BARRY A. MILOFSKY ELISSA SCRAFANO C

FELY C. PINGOL COMMISSION EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT (213) 978-1294

Date: FEB 01 2016

Los Angeles City Council Room 395, City Hall 200 North Spring Street Los Angeles, California 90012

Attention:

Sharon Dickinson, Legislative Assistant Planning and Land Use Management Committee

CASE NUMBER: CHC-2015-4011-HCM JULES SALKIN RESIDENCE 1430 W. AVON TERRACE

At the Cultural Heritage Commission meeting of **January 21, 2016**, the Commission moved to include the above property in the list of Historic-Cultural Monument, subject to adoption by the City Council.

As required under the provisions of Section 22.171.10 of the Los Angeles Administrative Code, the Commission has solicited opinions and information from the office of the Council District in which the site is located and from any Department or Bureau of the city whose operations may be affected by the designation of such site as a Historic-Cultural Monument. Such designation in and of itself has no fiscal impact. Future applications for permits may cause minimal administrative costs.

The City Council, according to the guidelines set forth in Section 22.171 of the Los Angeles Administrative Code, shall act on the proposed inclusion to the list within 90 days of the Council or Commission action, whichever first occurs. By resolution, the Council may extend the period for good cause for an additional 15 days.

The Cultural Heritage Commission would appreciate your inclusion of the subject modification to the list of Historic-Cultural Monuments upon adoption by the City Council.

The above Cultural Heritage Commission action was taken by the following vote:

Moved:Commissioner ScrafanoSeconded:Commissioner BarronAyes:Commissioners Irvine, Kennard, and Milofsky

Vote:

Felý Č. Pingol, Commission Executive Assistant Cultural Heritage Commission

Attachment: Staff Report with Findings

5-0

c: Councilmember Mitch O'Farrell, Thirteenth Council District Trina Turk and Jonathan Skow Barbara :Lamprecht GIS

CITY OF LOS ANGELES

CALIFORNIA



ERIC GARCETTI MAYOR

EXECUTIVE OFFICES

MICHAEL LOGRANDE DIRECTOR (213) 978-1271

LISA WEBBER, AICP DEPUTY DIRECTOR (213) 978-1274

JAN ZATORSKI DEPUTY DIRECTOR (213) 978-1273

FAX: (213) 978-1275

INFORMATION (213) 978-1270 www.planning.lacity.org

CHC-2015-4011-HCM Declaration Letter Mailing List MAILING DATE: 02/01/2016

Trina Turk & Jonathan Skow 3214 Waverly Drive Los Angeles, Ca 90027 GIS/Fae Tsukamoto City Hall, Room 825 **Mail Stop 395**

Barbara Lamprecht 550 E. Jackson Street Pasadena, Ca 91104 Council District 13 City Hall, Room 480 Mail Stop 222