SCNC Board

Patrice Berlin John Crotteau Claire Curet Alex Izbicki Lisa Karadjian Patrick Lewis Heidi MacKay **Richard Niederberg** Eric Preven Craig Radow **Rob Schiller** Keith Schwalenberg Andrew Sussman Rita C. Villa **Richard Welsh Denise Welvang**



4024 Radford Avenue, Editorial Bld. 2, Room 6 Studio City, CA 91604 (818) 655-5400 President Denise Welvang

Vice President Patrick Lewis

Treasurer Rob Schiller

Secretary Rita C. Villa

Corresponding Secretary John Crotteau

www.StudioCityNC.org

By email

April 29, 2018

RE: CF 14-1057-S1 and CF 18-0359

Members of the Homelessness and Poverty Committee:

The Board of the Studio City Neighborhood Council (the "SCNC") at its meeting on April 18, 2018, approved the submission of the following motion in support of a permanent extension to LAMC 85.02:

The Studio City Neighborhood Council strongly supports the permanent extension of the new Los Angeles Municipal Code (LAMC) 85.02 (Vehicle Dwelling). The code, effective since January 7, 2017, currently allows fines to be issued to persons dwelling in vehicles on residential streets and within one block of parks, licensed schools, preschools, and day care facilities between 9p.m and 6 a.m. Without an extension, this code will expire on June 30, 2018 and potentially allow sleeping in vehicles anywhere and anytime in Los Angeles.

Page 2 April 29, 2018 Members of the Homelessness and Poverty Committee

Additionally, all hillside areas (those governed by the Baseline Hillside Ordinance) should be a RED ZONE — NO Vehicle Dwelling — due to extreme fire risk. These hillside areas are designated as 'Very High Fire Hazard Severity Zones,' per the City of Los Angeles and Los Angeles Fire Department. We have already seen the risk of allowing homeless to shelter on or near hillsides with the Skirball Fire. This added measure would decrease fire risk for everyone.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Denise Welvang

Denise Welvang, President Studio City Neighborhood Council

Cc: <u>councilmember.harris-dawson@lacity.org</u> <u>councilmember.price@lacity.org</u> <u>councilmember.rodriguez@lacity.org</u> <u>councilmember.bonin@lacity.org</u> <u>councilmember.krekorian@lacity.org</u>, <u>Eric.Villanueva@lacity.org</u> <u>areen.ibranossian@lacity.org</u>, <u>karo.torossian@lacity.org</u>, jessica.fugate@lacity.org,