## DEPARTMENT OF CITY PLANNING

CITY PLANNING COMMISSION

DAVID H. J. AMBROZ PRESIDENT

RENEE DAKE WILSON VICE-PRESIDENT

CAROLINE CHOE
VAHID KHORSAND
SAMANTHA MILLMAN
MARC MITCHELL
VERONICA PADILLA-CAMPOS
DANA M. PERLMAN
VACANT

ROCKY WILES COMMISSION OFFICE MANAGER (213) 978-1300

April 20, 2018

## CITY OF LOS ANGELES

CALIFORNIA



ERIC GARCETTI

**EXECUTIVE OFFICES** 

200 N. SPRING STREET, ROOM 525 LOS ANGELES, CA 90012-4801

VINCENT P. BERTONI, AICP DIRECTOR (213) 978-1271

> KEVIN J. KELLER, AICP EXECUTIVE OFFICER (213) 978-1272

LISA M. WEBBER, AICP DEPUTY DIRECTOR (213) 978-1274

http://planning.lacity.org

Honorable Members of the City Council Budget and Finance Committee c/o Office of the City Clerk City Hall, Room 395 Los Angeles, California 90012

Attention: Richard Williams, Legislative Assistant II

## **DEPARTMENT OF CITY PLANNING 2018-19 PROPOSED BUDGET**

Dear Honorable Members:

The Department fully supports the funding and resources included in the 2018-19 Proposed Budget. The Department would like to thank the Mayor and his Budget Team for their support during the budget process and for recommending the key resources needed for the Department to continue the expanded Community Plan Program, staff the Historic Preservation Overlay Zone (HPOZ) unit, implement new initiatives, and refine the Department's operational structure.

The Department is undergoing a significant expansion of its Community Plan Program to bring all 35 Community Plans up-to-date by the year 2024. The Department's strategy to update all of the Community Plans involves the establishment of multiple Community Planning teams comprised of a range of planning staff, and supporting staff such as GIS specialists, graphic designers, transportation engineers, and city attorneys. To create geographic parity, the Department has created teams that are assigned to geographic regions across the City and are involved in the concurrent update of groups of two-to-four contiguous Community Plans.

The City's efforts to see all of the 35 Community Plans brought up-to-date in an accelerated six- year timeframe is funded, to a substantial degree, through an increase in the General Plan Maintenance Surcharge, which is charged on development fees. This surcharge was increased to 7% in August 2017, allowing the Department to permanently fund various positions created in support of the Community Plan Program. By June 30, 2018, most positions within the program will be filled.

Honorable Members of the City Council Department of City Planning 2018-19 Proposed Budget Page 2

As the Department moves forward with the preparation of Community Plans, consideration is given to a range of factors, the totality of which can be summarized into four general topic areas:

Housing Production: Areas where there is a critical demand for additional housing production, and where the current Community Plans may not provide adequate capacity for housing, consistent with the City's larger General Plan goals and policies, and consistent with reasonably anticipated growth.

Social and Environmental Equity: Areas where there are opportunities to craft policies and tools to address community issues such as housing affordability and housing access, exposure to pollution, and diminished access to essential community services.

Mobility: Areas where future mobility investments (such as future bus rapid transit and light rail transit stations) are already planned, and corresponding neighborhood planning will be appropriate and beneficial to reduce car trips and greenhouse gases.

Development Trends: Areas where current and desirable development trends appear to demonstrate a need to revisit or reconsider existing land use policies and zoning regulations.

We look forward to discussing these important items with the Committee. If you have any questions, please contact me at (213) 978-1271.

Sincerely,

VINCENT P. BERTONI, AICP

Director of Planning

c: Jose Huizar, Chair of the Planning and Land Use Management Committee William Chun, Deputy Mayor for Economic Development Miguel Sangalang, Deputy Mayor for Budget and Innovation Richard Llewellyn, City Administrative Officer Sharon Tso, Chief Legislative Analyst