DEPARTMENT OF CITY PLANNING

COMMISSION OFFICE (213) 978-1300

CITY PLANNING COMMISSION

SAMANTHA MILLMAN PRESIDENT

VAHID KHORSAND VICE-PRESIDENT

DAVID H. J. AMBROZ CAROLINE CHOE RENEE DAKE WILSON KAREN MACK MARC MITCHELL VERONICA PADILLA-CAMPOS DANA M. PERLMAN

February 25, 2019

Mr. Abbott Krieger (Appellant) 17646 Tramonto Drive Los Angeles, CA 90272

John A. Henning, Jr., Esq. (Representative) 125 N. Sweetzer Ave., #202 Los Angeles, CA 90048

Re: Council File: 18-0715, CEQA Appeal ENV-2017-4279; 17642 West Tramonto Drive, Pacific Palisades

Dear Mr. Krieger:

On October 10, 2018, the California Coastal Commission determined that the City of Los Angeles' issuance of a Coastal Development Permit (CDP) for the proposed project at 17642 West Tramonto Drive raised a "substantial issue" regarding the CDP's compliance with Chapter 3 of the California Coastal Act. The Coastal Commission's finding of "substantial issue" voids the West Los Angeles Area Planning Commission's (APC) approval of the CDP, dated July 19, 2018. Your pending appeal under Public Resources Code § 21151(c), which challenges the APC's July 19, 2018 decision to find the project exempt from the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA), can no longer be decided. This is because the APC's approval of the project has been superseded by the Coastal Commission's decision. As such, the Los Angeles Department of City Planning provides you with this notification that your CEQA appeal will be closed. You may be eligible for a partial refund of your appeal fee. Please contact project planner, Alex Truong, at alexander.truong@lacity.org if you have questions about how to request a refund.

Sincerely,

VINCENT P. BERTONI, AICP Director of Planning

Enior City Planner, for : CQ \sim Faisal Roble, Principal Planner

Cc: City Clerk (Sharon.Dickinson@lacity.org)

CITY OF LOS ANGELES

CALIFORNIA



ERIC GARCETTI

MAYOR

EXECUTIVE OFFICES 200 N. SPRING STREET, ROOM 525 LOS ANGELES, CA 90012-4801 (213) 978-1271

VINCENT P. BERTONI, AICP DIRECTOR

KEVIN J. KELLER, AICP EXECUTIVE OFFICER

SHANA M.M. BONSTIN DEPUTY DIRECTOR

> TRICIA KEANE DEPUTY DIRECTOR

ARTHI L. VARMA, AICP DEPUTY DIRECTOR

LISA M. WEBBER, AICP DEPUTY DIRECTO